About Our Structure & Organization

What is commonly referred to as the “Third Ward” is actually a number of organizations working closely together to guide its economic development.

  • Business Improvement District No. 2 (BID), a state statute-enabled entity created in 1987 by the City, has the power to levy assessments on business property. The nine-member board is appointed by the Mayor of Milwaukee, subject to Common Council approval. Each year the BID is responsible for submitting an operating plan, which includes the budget and goals for the year, to the Common Council as part of the City's budget. The operating plan includes any proposed assessments, which the BID Board approved and the assessment formulas, which determine the assessments paid by individual property owners. The BID is classified as a quasi-governmental body, which is treated as an extension of the City.
  • The Historic Third Ward Association (HTWA), a private non-profit, is financed through a combination of the BID, City, and membership support. Created in 1976, the Association's goal is to promote the economic interests of the Ward. The Historic Third Ward Association, Inc. annual IRS 990 filing is available upon request.

  • The Architectural Review Board (ARB), a City-created entity, issues certificates of appropriateness based on guidelines adopted by the Milwaukee Common Council.
  • A nationally listed Historic District, created in 1984, includes 70 buildings spread over 10 square blocks.

  • Two Tax Increment Districts (TID) were used to fund streetscapes improvements, a 500-car parking structure and the extension of the Milwaukee River Riverwalk into the Ward.

  • The BID has traditionally provided the strategic direction and financing for projects in the Ward. The HTWA, which is primarily funded by the BID, has provided the horsepower and creative energy for implementing goals and objectives. The ARB has been responsible for developing appropriate development standards for renovations and new construction. The driving force behind each one of these entities has been the willingness of individuals to donate time and expertise. The Ward has also benefited from strong consistent support from the City, both in terms of creating control mechanisms and responses to development issues. For example, the City financed a 500-car parking structure through a TID; the same TID financed streetscapes improvements, which have enhanced the area's identity.

Historic Third Ward Association Board

Board Officers

  • President
    Joseph Goode Laffey, Leitner, and Goode LLC
  • Vice-President
    Nathan Bernstein
    Joseph Property Development
  • Secretary
    Leann Mester Physicians Realty Trust
  • Treasurer
    Mal Montoya
    MARN Art+Culture Hub
  • At-Large
    Jack R. Lemmon, past President

Board of Directors

  • Shawna Ballinger Cramer-Krasselt
  • Carrie Arrouet Lela Boutique
  • Mark Lawson Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design
  • Dana McIntosh Urbaine Oasis Spa Boutique
  • Melissa Weber The Tied House
  • Danielle Fuentes River Renaissance Condos / Boelter + Lincoln
  • Mary Shanning Summerfest
  • Kathleen Dohearty Penniston Branigan, Inc.
  • Paul Schwartz Milwaukee Public Market
  • Gina M. Spang Italian Community Center
  • Kate Strzok Broadway Paper
  • Tracey Wadsworth Marine Terminal Lofts
  • Adriana Ramirez Camp Bar
  • Ann Hanna Taureau Group

Business Improvement District No. 2 Board

  • Chair
    Ron San Felippo 
    Second Property LLC
  • Vice-Chair
    Greg Uhen
    Eppstein Uhen Architects
  • Treasurer
    Kendall Breunig
    Sunset Investors
  • Marianne Burish  Transwestern
  • Michael DeMichele  DeMichele Commercial Properties
  • Michael Gardner    Gardner Group
  • Robert Joseph  Joseph Property Development
  • Ann Pieper Eisenbrown  Pieper Properties, Inc.

Architectural Review Board

  • ARB Coordinator
    Matthew Jarosz 
    JaroszLynch Architects
  • Chair
    Alderman Robert Bauman 
    District 4
  • Michael DeMichele  DeMichele Commercial Real Estate
  • Patty Keating Kahn  Historic Preservation Commission
  • Mark Lawson  Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design
  • Greg Patin  Department of City Development
  • Jim Piwoni  Piwoni Architects
  • Jim Plaisted  HTWA Executive Director

This website uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyze your use of our products and services and assist with our promotional and marketing efforts. If you agree to allow us to collect this information simply click OK below. Otherwise, click the Opt Out button and your information will not be used.

OK Opt-Out